sprout of love

by meiling7

In a space where there was no horizon, no house, no furniture, nothing, only existed a pure white color. I was standing there, in front of a mirror. A weird mirror which only reflected me and a black dark space behind me. But when I moved little closer to it, the scene gradually changed. My flesh and skin slowly turned transparent in the center. I could see my organs working like a mechanical clock. The blood flowed inside all of my veins, into the heart which was beating quietly. It was like I was watching a real life documentary movie of how human’s organs work. But something was wrong there, something was not in the usual shape like what I had learnt from biological class about human body. The heart shape was have something like a sprout grew out on top. It has color of a light yellow lemon, inside my body. What was it, how long had it been here and what the cause, I didn’t know.Everything became blurry and I woke up from the dream.

A shiny day. Of course, it was still in the summer period. I could hear the sound of children running around the house with laughter. Birds were chirping outside my window. In front of my house, a fat lady, house clean lady – i guessed was doing her usual job of organizing and cleaning the room. I began my day a little late today. But who would care? I just had to call my boss for coming late  and then I could have my breakfast in peace. Beside, I just had had a heavy headache the day before, everyone knew. Therefore, I could use that as an excuse for coming late. After that thought, I dragged myself slowly to the bathroom to brush my teeth. IT was so blurry, I meaned everything around me. Everything became heavier that it actually is. Only lifting the toothbrush to clean my teeth and I had felt pretty tired and heavy. “What is happening to me” – i wondered,” the headache should have gone, I feel no pain, no heat inside my body, what is this goddamn heavy?”. A flash of memory came back to me, in a series of images which I felt so familiar yet so hard to recognize. The dream of me standing in the all white room, in front of the mirror which only reflected me and the dark black space behind. An SFX image of me looking into my organs, into my heart . The heart which had a sprout growing out without any reason, any meaning. After that, another image dashed into my vision. I was sleeping wearily in my place, with my wet cloth on my forehead and bowl of cool water on the left of my cushion, and then my phone rang, someone’s familiar to me was calling me but I could hardly remember who. I heard the ring but I couldn’t bring myself to answer it. I realized all of those were the memories of yesterday’s night. I tried to brush my teeth fast, spit out the water after brushing,  cleaned my face, turned to the phone and looked. That was a call from my ex-boyfriend, a great cheater who i had loved. I clicked delete and then turned to the kitchen to prepare breakfast.” No matter what happen to him, it is none of my concern now. We haven’t text or called each other after months so why now calling me”. Even though I didn’t want to think about it, the thought still struck my head for a while. ” Anyway, it’s time to go to work ” I looked at my swatch and rushed out of the house.

“Your ex-boyfriend, K., he was dead last night. Did you know ?” my colleague toll me

I was about to settle on my seat when she approached me and told me about the incident. That… was kind of a shock to me.